12th Annual Transworld Skateboarding Awards Nominees


Carlsbad, CA – May 21, 2010 – TransWorld SKATEboarding, the world’s largest and most respected skateboard magazine for over 25 years, announces the nominees for the 12th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards. The winners will be named during a live event on June 15, 2010 at Avalon in Hollywood, California.

The TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards honor skateboarding’s top riders, presenting eight awards to professional skateboarders in the categories of Best Rookie, Best Street Skater, Best Transition Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, TWS Readers’ Choice, and the TWS Legend Award. The award winners are determined by polling more than 150 professional skateboarders worldwide, with thousands of TransWorld SKATEboarding’s readers voting for the winner of the TWS Readers’ Choice Award. This year’s TWS Legend Award will be presented to one of skateboarding’s most widely influential skaters, Matt Hensley. Previous winners of this prestigious award include Christian Hosoi, Tony Hawk, Lance Mountain, and Mark Gonzales.

Directly following the awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding is pleased to host the world premiere of its 22nd video, Hallelujah, the newest film by Jon Holland and Chris Ray, featuring Ryan Decenzo, Pete Eldridge, Taylor Bingaman, Tyler Bledsoe, and Torey Pudwill.

The official nominees for the 12th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards are:

Best Rookie
Grant Taylor
Brandon Westgate
Luan Oliveria

Best Team
Zoo York

Best Video Part
Zered Bassett- State of Mind
Grand Taylor- Debacle
Bob Burnquist – Extremely Sorry

Best Street
Chris Cole
Dennis Busenitz
Zered Bassett

Best Transition
Bob Burnquist
Grant Taylor
Jake Brown

Best Video
Extremely Sorry
State of Mind
Sk8Mafia AM Video

TWS Reader’s Choice
Chris Cole
Lizard King
Sean Malto

TWS Legend
Matt Hensley

“Once again the pros have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and on June 15 the very best of the past year in skateboarding will finally be revealed; not to mention we’ll be honoring Matt Hensley with the Legend Award and premiering our 22nd video, Hallelujah. It’s another memorable year for TWS.” —Ben Kelly, Editor, TransWorld SKATEboarding.

The 12th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards is proud to be associated with the following sponsors: Ball Park, New Era, and Red Bull.  For more information on TransWorld SKATEboarding and the TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, please visit

Join Our Mailing List

Deals, Discounts and Giveaways!